Children and Young People Mental Health Support in Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin

 Across Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin there is support available to support children and young people. Some of these services includes: 

Healthier Together online information for young person’s mental health including information about anxiety, depression, anger, eating difficulties, bullying, self-harm and more 

Beam is an emotional wellbeing drop-in service for young people aged 5 to 18 years (or up to 25 if you’re a care leaver).  BEAM can recommend strategies and techniques to boost your resilience and develop coping skills for when life presents challenges.  

Kooth is an online confidential support service with a safe and secure way of accessing mental health and wellbeing support specifically for young people. This includes opportunity to have 1 to 1 support via live chat or text message conversation with a qualified counsellor. 

For more information on mental health support in: 

For bereavement support: 

Shropshire Council First Point of Contact Customer Service team (contact) 0345 678 9028.  This includes a funded offer for children and young people who live in a Shropshire Council postcode that have been impacted by bereavement, grief or loss (up to 18 years old).  

Telford & Wrekin Cruse Bereavement Care offers free bereavement support services to adults and young people living in Shropshire, Telford & Wrekin who have been affected by the death of someone close. We also offer pre-bereavement support to those who are expecting to lose a loved one through illness. 

For crisis or suicide support:

Papyrus Hopeline  offers support with concerns about suicidal thoughts, providing a safe space to talk through anything happening in your life that could be impacted on your or anyone else’s ability to stay safe for anyone under the age of 35. 

Shout 8528 is a free, confidential, anonymous text support service. If you are struggling to cope and need to talk, our trained Shout Volunteers are here for you, day or night. 


Page last updated 1 February 2024