Primary Care Networks (PCNs)

Primary Care Networks (PCNs) are groups of General Practices that have come together to work collaboratively to address a range of health conditions including diabetes, heart disease and mental health issues, and may need to access their local health services more often or in different ways.

In order to improve services for local people GP practices are working together with community, mental health, social care, pharmacy, hospital and voluntary services. PCNs build on existing primary care services and enable greater provision of proactive, personalised, coordinated and more integrated health and social care for people closer to home.

Clinicians describe this as a change from reactively providing appointments to proactively caring for the people and communities they serve.

There are nine PCNs across Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin as follows:

Newport/Central PCN

  • Donnington Medical Practice
  • Shawbirch Medical Centre
  • Linden Hall Surgery
  • Wellington Road Surgery

Clinical Director: Dr S Waldendorf


North Shropshire PCN

  • Churchmere Medical Group
  • Drayton Medical Practice
  • Plas Ffynnon Medical Centre
  • The Caxton Surgery
  • Wem & Prees Medical Practice
  • Cambrian Medical Practice
  • Hodnet Medical Centre (LCS)*

Clinical Directors: N Vonhirschberg, S Jones


Shrewsbury PCN

  • Belvidere Medical Practice
  • Marden Medical Practice
  • Marysville Medical Practice
  • Riverside Medical Practice
  • Severn Fields Medical Practice
  • South Hermitage Surgery
  • Radbrook Green Surgery
  • Mytton Oak Medical Practice
  • Claremont Bank Surgery
  • The Beeches Medical Practice
  • Prescott Surgery

Clinical Director: Dr C Hart


Shropshire Rural Alliance PCN

  • Clive Medical Practice
  • Knockin Medical Practice
  • Pontesbury and Worthen Medical Practice
  • Shawbury Medical Practice
  • Westbury Medical Practice

Clinical Directors: Dr D Puiu and Dr K Lewis

South East Shropshire PCN

  • Albrighton Medical Practice
  • Alveley Medical Practice
  • Bridgnorth Medical Practice
  • Brown Clee Medical Practice
  • Cleobury Mortimer Medical Centre
  • Much Wenlock & Cressage Medical Practice
  • Broseley Medical Practice
  • Ironbridge Medical Practice

Clinical Director: Dr Jess Harvey


South West Shropshire PCN

  • Bishops Castle Medical Practice
  • Church Stretton Medical Practice
  • Craven Arms Medical Practice
  • Portcullis Surgery
  • Station Drive Surgery
  • The Meadows Medical Practice

Clinical Director: Dr D Shepherd 


Teldoc PCN

  • Teldoc
  • Shifnal and Priorslee Medical Practice

Clinical Directors: Dr I Chan and Dr R Bhachu


Wrekin PCN

  • Hollinswood Surgery
  • Wellington Medical Practice
  • Dawley Medical Practice

Clinical Directors: Dr D Ebenezer, Dr N Singh, Dr R Mishra


South East Telford PCN

  • Court Street Medical Practice
  • Stirchley Medical Practice
  • Woodside Medical Practice

Clinical Director: Dr N Gureja


*LCS - practice has opted out of being part of a PCN, however, the PCN has agreed to deliver the contents of the PCN Directed Enhanced Service for the patients of the practice through a locally commissioned service (LCS).

Back to 'Your GP Practice'

Page last updated 23 April 2024