Our local area

We work across the 1,347 square miles of Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin, serving around 500,000 people.

The Integrated Care Board (ICB) is responsible for buying NHS services for local people. In our area, we  have:

Within our area, we have two unitary authorities – Shropshire Council and Telford & Wrekin Council. Shropshire Council covers 1,234 square miles, 91.7% of the ceremonial county of Shropshire. This includes a number of towns, including Shrewsbury and Oswestry, but no major cities. The area covered by Shropshire Council has a population of around 310,000 people.

The rest of the area is covered by Telford & Wrekin Council. Around 170,000 live in this borough with around 150,000 living in Telford itself – making it the largest town in the area we cover.

Being on the Welsh-English border, we provide some hospital services for people from the Welsh health system who live outside of our area. Some residents in mid-Wales rely on our services particularly at the two acute hospitals, the Royal Shrewsbury and the Princess Royal Hospitals, and RJAH.

Back to 'What we do'

Page last updated 30 June 2022